Dear EACC Members, Here are the EACC updates as of Friday, January 10, 2020 Happy New Year and Welcome back!

Let's recap...

On <mark>December 11th, EACC held our annual <mark>Legislative Reception</mark>. Elected officials that we had in attendance were:</mark>

- Delegate Edith Patterson,
- Delegate CT Wilson,
- Commissioner President Reuben Collins,
- Commissioner Gilbert BJ Bowling,
- > Charles County Board of Education Chair Virginia McGraw,
- ➢ BOE Vice Chair Tina Wilson,
- BOE member Mike Lukas,
- BOE member Liz Brown and
- BOE member David Hancock.

We also had as guests:

- MSEA Vice President Doug Prouty,
- CCPS AFSCME President Sarah Burch, and
- CCNAACP President Dyotha Sweat.

EACC Building Reps have notes from the Reception. If you have any questions, please contact me/Linda at Imclaughlin@mseanea.org.

The Maryland General Assembly began their session on Wednesday, 01/08/2020. One of the important pieces of legislation this session is the **Blueprint for Maryland's Future** – following the recommendations of the Kirwan Commission. This is the session where our legislators will pass legislation about a new funding formula for education. Our Kids Can't Wait. We need their support now to get the resources we need for education. Here is a link to a letter about the Blueprint published on Wednesday in the Maryland Independent : <u>https://www.somdnews.com/independent/opinion/letters to the editor/the-blueprint-for-maryland-s-future-is-important/article_2e2c47b9-e5a1-542a-a001-ba8519254e56.html</u>

What's new?

1. EACC Lobby Nights begin next Monday, January 13th!

Do you want to have your voice heard by the elected legislators in Annapolis? The 2020 Legislative Session will be extremely important as our elected officials address the new funding formula recommendations made by the Kirwan Commission. Come with us on EACC Lobby Nights and add your voice to the room!!!!!

Sign up here: <u>https://teameacc.wufoo.com/forms/2020-eacc-lobby-nights-in-annapolis/</u>

- 2. Early Career Educator Meet Up to Kick off 2020 Reboot, Restore and Revive- postponed due to weather
 → Rescheduled for Tuesday, January 28, 2020! Because we have a new date, please sign up again
 Come start 2020 off with a fresh perspective, new ideas and renewed energy! We'll be talking about:
 - rebooting your classroom,
 - revitalizing yourself with self-care strategies,
 - reviving your outlook for the future with some financial opportunities, Synergy tips and tricks, and selfadvocacy!

When? January 28, 2020, 5-7PM

Where? Martini's Restaurant & Lounge

10553 Theodore Green Blvd. White Plains, MD 20695

Sign up to attend at the following link: <u>https://teameacc.wufoo.com/forms/january-28th-eacc-mm-restorerebootrevive/</u>

3. EACC Social and Karaoke!!!!!

Come relax and socialize with other EACC colleagues! There will be food, friends, and KARAOKE!!!!! All members are welcome!!!!

When? Friday, January 24, 2020, 3-7PMWhere? Martini's Restaurant & Lounge10553 Theodore Green Blvd. White Plains, MD 20695

4. MSEA 2020 Elections begin on January 27, 2020!

Online voting for MSEA's 2020 elections will run from January 27-February 21; the link to vote will be posted on the MSEA page at <u>https://www.marylandeducators.org/elections-nominations</u>

during the election window.

Members may vote for candidates for National Education Association (NEA) Director (1 seat), MSEA Board of Directors (4 seats), MSEA Treasurer, and delegates to the 2020 NEA RA in Atlanta(not listed below). Retired members may also vote in the election for the Retired Advisory Council (2 seats).

The candidates for MSEA offices are:

<u>Treasurer</u> Joe Coughlin, Baltimore

MSEA Board of Directors

Michelle Alexander, Montgomery Neil Becker, Washington Robin Beers, Anne Arundel Donna Christy, Prince George's Linda Firman, Howard Heather Goodhart, Carroll Averill Malone, Prince George's Jennifer Martin, Montgomery Colleen Morris, Howard Katherine Mullen, Baltimore Philimena Owona, Prince George's

NEA Director

Erika Strauss Chavarria, Howard Matthew Gresick, Howard Maleeta Kitchen, Howard Linda McLaughlin, Charles Robin Szymanski, Carroll Candidate videos can be seen at: https://www.marylandeducators.org/elections-nominations

NEA MEMBER BENEFITS: JANUARY DEALS

Included in this January 2020 Communications Update are:

- Monthly Hot Deals & Discounts article
- Featured Content on NEAMB.com beginning January 1, 2020
- Score the Hottest Deals with the New Limited Time Offers Program—Flyer
- Enter to Win a Jeep Compass from California Casualty
- How to Get and Compare Car Insurance Quotes
- Winterize Your Home on a Budget
- Social Media Posts
- Professional Content Articles/Podcasts

Access the Communications Update here:

https://www.neamb.com/Pages/Affiliate-Communications-

<u>Resources?utm_source=directmsg&utm_medium=web&utm_content=communicationsupdate&utm_campaign=commupdate</u>

EACC <u>Committees</u> – Want to know how YOU can get involved?

We would love for more members to become active on our committees! Please contact the committee chairs listed below if you are interested in joining.

Membership – Chair: Kimberly Williams/Tina Pagel

The Membership Committee helps grow the membership of the Association by planning and running member social activities.

Next meeting: February 27, 2020, 5:00 PM, EACC Office

Government Relations (GR) Committee - Chair: Veronica Golden

The GR Committee is involved in political activities and helps members become strong advocates for public education.

Next meeting: January 16, 2020, 5:30 PM, EACC Office

Instruction and Professional Development (IPD) Committee – Chair: Heather Hartman-Jansen The IPD Committee plans and implements Professional Development and Member Wellness workshops and activities.

Next meeting: February 13, 2020, 5:00 PM, EACC Office

Public Relations Committee - Chair: Denise Pratt

The PR Committee promotes and advocates for the education profession in a positive manner in all manners of media outlets in the community.

Next meeting: January 23, 2020, 5:30 PM, EACC Office

<u>Minority Affairs/ Human and Civil Rights</u> – Chair: Marissa Baker The MAHCR Committee helps make ALL members feel that they are part of the union. Next meeting: February 6, 2020, 5:00 PM, EACC Office

"Let the nation and the world know the meaning of our numbers." -A. Philip Randolph

Línda McLaughlín President, Education Association of Charles County 105 Centennial St, Suite H La Plata, MD 20646 (office) 301.392.0150 (fax) 301.392.0151